Safety Management Industry - Knowledge & Resource Center

Professional Guides
  » Risk Manager

Below is a listing of topics as they specifically relate to the risk manager and the corporate risk management function.

Risk manager's responsibilities cover a wide variety of topics that span organizational lines, and solutions often need to be implemented in multiple areas of the organization to be effective.

The Safety Library together with the other LAD Libraries, rmDirectory, Group Gateways and online tools from the rmToolshed provide a communication vehicle for the identification, coordination and implementation of organizational wide solutions never before available to risk managers.

The Safety Library brings together the following topics from the worlds of government, business and nonprofits so risk managers and their staffs can identify issues, find solutions, design strategies to achieve their objectives and communicate them effectively to the rest of their organizations.

Disasters: Business Continuity

Business continuity post-disaster is critical to every enterprise. This section provides information regarding planning for disasters and management guidance as to how to mitigate, reduce the impact and recover from such events.

Disasters: Emergency Plans

Review the full text of emergency response plans to give you ideas for creating your own. Access checklists, guides, and information materials related to evacuations, first aid, environmental health and more. Determine what government services and relief agencies are available to provide assistance in the event of a disaster.

Disasters: Natural

Locate earthquake, flood and weather maps. Access bulletins, fact sheets and guides on natural disaster planning. The weather alert section provides you with the latest storm information around the world.

Discussion Groups

Networking is one of the best methods to increase your influence and knowledge, keep abreast of current issues, obtain assistance with difficult problems, etc. Even if you are not an active participant, you can benefit from internet discussion groups by reviewing discussion group archives (which can be quite enlightening..)

Education: Seminars

Find certification bodies, seminars and conferences for risk management, security, safety management, disasters and more.

Information Technology

Learn how technology helps solve problems for risk managers... from the technology itself to e-commerce to cyberliability & internet law.

Insurance: Claims Management

Claim management guidelines, such as structured settlements, work-relatedness of diseases, disability costs, reserving guidelines, case law, databases of health codes including DRG, ICD-9, IDC-10, APG, etc.

Insurance: Coverages

Information on all the insurance coverage risk managers need -- from auto liability to workers compensation and everything in between.

Insurance: Environmental

The environmental issues in insurance - chemicals, EPA regulations & manuals.

Insurance: EPL

Employers Professional Liability and the legal issues surrounding it.

Insurance: Fraud

Fraud issues in workers comp, security and health, including employee theft issues.

Insurance: Liability

All types of liability insurance information from D&O to E&O to medical liability to product liability.

Management: Behavior

Behavior management information including drug free workplace, violence, terminations and more.

Management: Fleet

Fleet management including transportation law, cargo, theft issues, DOT, and fleet safety.

Management: General

Concepts, issues, principles, and theories of risk management.

Management: Injury

Injury management - OSHA resources, health, managed care and workers comp.

Management: Privacy

Privacy management from health privacy to e-privacy to identity theft to ERISA.

Management: Risk

Risk management topics: fleet, managed care, property, safety, security and workers comp.

Management: Safety

Safety management topics: chemicals, disaster, ergonomics, fleet, OSHA, property, regulations, safety and security.

Management: Security

Security management - bomb threats, access control, background checks, travel safety, executive protection, violence and more.

Management: Workplace Wellness

Workplace wellness management - exercises, nutrition, stress, first aid, drug free workplace and tobacco.

News: Alerts

Safety and health hazard alerts. Real-time traffic conditions, road construction, weather for motorists. National Weather Service warnings, seismic events and more. The latest information about internet virus alerts and hoaxes.

News: Government Affairs

Updates from the EPA, DOT, DOL, OSHA and MSHA.

News: Headlines

Continuous news updates on insurance industry & risk management. Today's business news from a large variety of sources.

Research: Companies

Locate information about your company, your competitors, your customers, potential vendors, etc. Find credit rating reports & financials. Conduct internet research on companies, such as any FTC actions or NLRB decisions. Visit the company's website.

Research: Databases

Ergonomics studies conducted by universities, consulting firms. Full text of OSHA technical manuals. Safety bulletins for workplace, home, personal & off-the-job.

Samples: Forms & Checklists

Sample forms and checklists on a wide variety of insurance, risk management, safety management and disaster management topics.

Samples: Policies & Programs

Full text policies and programs from a large range of topics: emergency plans, hr policies, safety programs, ergonomics programs, business plans and more.

Software & Calculators

Take advantage of one of the cost-saving opportunities presented by the internet - the ability to download software and utilize online calculators useful for risk management and safety management.

US Laws & Regs

Full text of US federal laws and regulations.


My Bookmarks | Last 25

Words of Wisdom

"You cannot plough a field by turning it over in your mind.

- John Chambers

Spotlight Resources
  - Case Law
  - Checklists
  - Databases
  - Forms
  - Government Agencies
  - Handouts
  - Industry Safety
  - Manuals
  - Programs
  - Statistics
  - Templates
Comic Relief

Yogi - isms

In reply to "Hey Yogi, I think we're lost....Yeah, but we're making great time!

- Yogi Berra